top of page

The Shubie Brothers

And Sisters

Janne Haavisto & The Shubie Brothers

And Sisters: You Are Here

MuFa 022


”You Are Here” is the debut album of Janne Haavisto & The Shubie Brothers and Sisters. Janne Haavisto, the drummer of the late Laika

& The Cosmonauts (who called it quits in 2008) makes a comeback to the surf sound with over 20 friends ranging from Los Straitjackets´s Pete Curry to childhood friend Sami Yaffa of Hanoi Rocks and New York Dolls. The record is an exciting combination of soul, reggae, latin, exotica and world music influences, blended in cinemascopic soundscapes. Rhythmically versatile, it flows naturally through dreamy slow moods to more hectic moments.

On the album you´ll hear Haavisto play guitars, drums, percussion, organ, mellotron, vibraphone, marxophone etc. with these beautiful people:

Abdissa ”Mamba” Assefa, percussion
Pete Curry, bass, drums, percussion, guitars
Sami Yaffa, bass
Mikko Mäkelä, bass
Eeva Koivusalo, bass
Juha Tikka, upright bass
Jussi Jaakonaho, guitars
Miikka Paatelainen, guitars, pedal steel
Joe Emery, guitars
Bob Spalding, guitars
Tommi Viksten, acoustic & electric guitars
Olli Haavisto, pedal steel, dobro
Rob Douglas, acoustic guitars
Tarja Merivirta, acoustic guitars
Roope Aarnio, acoustic guitars
Tuomas Metsberg, acoustic guitars
Markus Nordenstreng, organ
Tero Pennanen, organ grand piano
Jukka Haavisto, vibraphone
Susanna Haavisto, vocal
Kaisa Ivars, Maija Linkola, Laura Airola, Mauri Kuokkanen, strings

Janne Haavisto & The Shubie Brothers is also a live band:

Janne Haavisto, drums
Abdissa ”Mamba” Assefa, percussion
Miikka Paatelainen, guitar
Jussi Jaakonaho, guitar
Jukka Kiviniemi, bass

Photo: Juha Reunanen

bottom of page